

THE R.K. MORTON SCHOLARSHIP

The scholarship is in memory of Robert Kerford Morton, F.A.A. Mr Morton was the Waite Professor of Agricultural Chemistry in the University from 1957 to 1962 and Professor of Biochemistry in 1963.

The University established two R.K. Morton Scholarships, one in Biochemistry and one in Agricultural Biochemistry, both in the Faculty of Sciences.

Prize recipients

Year	
2021	Nicola Jones
2020	Alison Roennfeldt
2019	Nozhat Hassan
2018	Chloe Gates
2017	Tim Allen and Tristrom Cooke
2016	Jordan Pederick
2015	Not awarded



THE R.K. MORTON SCHOLARSHIPS

RULES

In 1965, members of the Australian Biochemical Society and other friends and colleagues of the late Robert Kerford Morton, F.A.A., paid to the University £2,000 to establish a fund in his memory. Mr Morton was the Waite Professor of Agricultural Chemistry in the University from 1957 to 1962 and Professor of Biochemistry in 1963.

The University established two R K Morton Scholarships, one in Biochemistry and one in Agricultural Biochemistry, both in the Faculty of Sciences.

The following rules now apply:-

- 1. Two scholarships to be known as 'R.K. Morton Scholarships' shall be offered for award annually. The value of each scholarship shall be \$1,500 per year, or such other amount as the University shall from time to time determine provided that the value of the scholarship does not exceed the annual distribution of interest available from the Endowment Fund.
- 2. (a) One scholarship shall be awarded to the undergraduate placed highest in the order of merit amongst those candidates who have completed a major in Biochemistry, with a standard of pass with distinction overall in the courses included in the major and who proceeds to the Honours degree of Bachelor of Science in Biochemistry or Master of Philosophy (No Honours) degree in Biochemistry.
 - (b) The other scholarship shall be awarded to the undergraduate placed highest in order of merit amongst those candidates who have completed the third year course Plant Biotechnology III and who proceeds to an Honours degree undertaking a research project related to agricultural biochemistry in the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine.
- 3. The scholarships are tenable for one year only and shall be paid direct to the student in one lump sum payment.
- 4. If in any year the Faculty of Sciences considers that no candidate is of sufficient merit no award will be made.
- 5. If no award of either scholarship is made in any year the value of the lapsed award shall be added to the capital sum of the fund.
- 6. The University may vary the rules from time to time in a manner consistent with the University's legal obligations and <u>policies</u>.

Rules approved by Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor & Vice-President (Academic) 2 September 2020