Our People

Our School is home to award-winning academics and researchers whose cutting-edge discoveries and insights are driving innovation in the fields of Computer and Mathematical Sciences.

Our achievements span Laureate Fellowships to Medals from the Australian Mathematical Society. 

Professor Abelardo Pardo

Head of School, Computer and Mathematical Sciences

Professor Abelardo Pardo holds a PhD in Computer Science from the University of Colorado at Boulder, USA, entitled, “Automatic Abstraction Techniques for the Verification of Digital Systems,” and a Masters in Computer Science from the Polytechnic University of Catalonia, Spain.

Professor Pardo’s research interests lie in how educational systems can capitalise on the potential of technology to enhance learning experiences. His work examines learning analytics, personalised active learning, and technology for student support. He has a wealth of expertise in how to combine technological solutions as part of the complex learning ecosystems to significantly improve learner experiences this includes areas such as: feedback literacy, analytics, learning design, active learning, and leadership structures to promote innovation in educational institutions.

Staff Directory

  • Deputy Head of School

    Associate Professor Nickolas Falkner

    Associate Professor Nickolas Falkner

    Associate Professor Falkner has been at the University of Adelaide since 2017 and is the Director of the Australian Smart Cities Consortium as well as a member of the Computer Science Education Research Group.
    Nickolas is an award-winning teacher and conducts research into a number of areas: computer network design and development, network security, privacy preservation, blockchain technologies, the Internet of Things and educational research, with a focus on increasing student participation, retention, and enthusiasm. He works extensively in education beyond the traditional borders of the University and is heavily involved in the University’s AdX initiative, as well as the Computer Science Educational Research Centre’s series of Digital Technologies MOOCs to support teachers across Australia.

    Staff directory

  • Associate heads

    Professor Olaf Maennel

    Associate Head, International

    Associate Professor Claudia Szabo

    Associate Head, Learning and Teaching

    Dr Wei Zhang

    Associate Head, People and Culture

    Dr Luke Bennetts

    Associate Head, Research

  • Discipline leads

    Professor Finnur Larusson

    Mathematical Sciences

  • School contacts

    Maryke Flint

    School Business Manager

    Staff directory

Our researchers

Connect with our world-leading researchers.

Researcher profiles