Professor Tony Thomas is SA Scientist of the Year

Dr Anthony Thomas

University of Adelaide leading particle physicist Professor Anthony (Tony) Thomas is South Australian Scientist of the Year for 2014.

Announced last night as part of the Science Excellence Awards, Professor Thomas is Australian Laureate Fellow and Elder Professor of Physics in the University's School of Chemistry and Physics.

He heads both the ARC Centre of Excellence for Particle Physics at the Terascale at the University of Adelaide and the ARC Special Research Centre for the Subatomic Structure of Matter.

Professor Anthony Thomas aims to unravel the rich and complex structure of subatomic matter, which remains one of the great challenges in physics.

His research uses a unique approach of connecting experiment, theory, advanced computations and simulation that impact on fundamental questions about the nature of our universe, financial markets, atmospheric and climate studies.

Using his extensive international collaborative networks, Professor Thomas has created a globally visible program at the forefront of subatomic physics that has put South Australia in the middle of a major international scientific endeavour.

Read full story

Tagged in CSSM, Physics, School of Physical Sciences, CoEPP