EEE School Seminar: All-dielectric resonant meta-optics and nanophotonics

Speaker: Yuri Kivshar, Nonlinear Physics Center, ANU, Canberra

Date: Friday 17 May, 2019
Time: 11.10am - 12pm
Location: N158 Chapman Lecture Theatre, Engineering North

Metamaterials - artificial electromagnetic media that are structured on the subwavelength scale - were initially suggested for the realisation of negative-index media, and later they became a paradigm for engineering electromagnetic space and control­ling propagation of waves. However, applications of metamaterials in optics are limited due to inherent losses in metals employed for the realisation of artificial optical magnetism.

Recently, we observe the emergence of a new field of all-dielectric resonant meta-optics aiming at the manipulation of strong optically-induced electric and magnetic Mie-type resonances in dielectric and semiconductor nanostructures with relatively high refractive index. Unique advantages of dielectric resonant nanostructures over their metallic counterparts are low dissipative losses and the enhancement of both electric and magnetic fields that provide competitive alternatives for plasmonic structures including optical nanoantennas, efficient biosensors, passive and active metasurfaces, and functional metadevices.

This talk will summarize the most recent advances in all-dielectric Mie-resonant meta-optics including active nanophotonics as well as the recently emerged fields of biosensing, topological photonics, and nonlinear metasurfaces.

Download the abstract here.


About the speaker

Yuri Kivshar

Yuri Kivshar received a PhD degree in theoretical physics in 1984 from the Institute for Low Temperature Physics and Engineering of the USSR Academy of Science (Kharkov, Ukraine). From 1988 to 1993 he worked at several research centres in USA, Spain, and Germany, and in 1993 he moved to Australia where later he established Nonlinear Physics Center at the Australian National University.

Yuri Kivshar’s research interests include nonlinear physics, metamaterials, and nanophotonics. He is Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, and also Fellow of OSA, APS, SPIE and IOP.

He received several International awards including Pnevmatikos Prize in Nonlinear Science (Greece), Lyle Medal (Australia), Lebedev Medal (Russia), The State Prize in Science (Ukraine), Harrie Massey Medal (UK), and Humboldt Research Award (Germany).

Tagged in Events, free event, electrical and mechanical engineering