Appointment of Executive Dean for the Faculty of ECMS

Following an international search, Professor Katrina Falkner has been appointed Executive Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Computer and Mathematical Sciences.

Katrina Falkner, Executive Dean ECMS

Professor Falkner has held the role as Interim Executive Dean since October 2019, and prior to that served as Deputy Dean (Learning and Teaching) from 2018. She was the Head of School for the School of Computer Science from 2014-2018.  During these years Professor Falkner has lead the School and Faculty through significant growth and change, doubling both research and teaching revenue, leading strategic policy, budget and workload management.

As a researcher with a strong international profile, Katrina’s research is founded on the application of fundamental research to real world, interdisciplinary problems with a strong focus on collaborative, industry partnerships and has attracted more than $25M in competitive grants, industry and government research funding, with relationships including DST Group, Data61, Google USA, Google Australia, Education Services Australia and the Commonwealth Department of Education and Training.

She has received numerous awards in recognition of leadership and expertise as an educator including an Australian Learning and Teaching Council Citation in 2008, the 2016 Australian Council for Computers in Education (ACCE) and Australian Computer Society (ACS) National Leader of the Year, and the 2017 CORE John Hughes Distinguished Service Award.

Professor Falkner is also committed to equity and diversity and is a member of the University’s ALLY network as well as a volunteer mentor in the University’s Women’s Professional Development Network,  and through her passion for science and technology education has made major contributions towards enhancing the career progression of women in STEM.

Katrina is the Immediate Past President of the Australian Council of Deans of ICT and holds memberships with the Academy of Science Education Committee and the ACARA Digital Technologies Stakeholder Group.

Professor Falkner will become the first female Executive Dean for the Faculty of ECMS, and we are delighted to congratulate her on her new appointment.

Tagged in Latest News and Achievements, Petroleum Engineering, computer and mathematical sciences, Civil Environmental and Mining Engineering, Chemical Engineering, electrical and mechanical engineering