Meet the ECMS 3MT Faculty finalists and prize winners

Our research students have risen to the 3MT challenge, explaining their detailed research in just three minutes and with one single slide.

3MT whole group shot 2021

LR: Ron Seidel People's Choice Winner Hue Pho, A/Prof Alex Ng (Director of Graduate Studies), finalist Chye Yi Leow, Prof Volker Hessel (Deputy Dean – Research), finalist Harry Carpenter, Stella Ho (ECMS 3MT coordinator) with sponsors Ron and Marilyn Seidel.

In 2021, the competition was again run virtually in the best interests of public health, with students presenting their thesis to camera.

Many thanks also goes to ECMS judging panellists:

  • Carlos Bartesaghi Koc
  • Damien Leclercq
  • Louise O'Reilly and
  • Yan Jiao

We appreciate the time taken to diligently judge our Faculty’s 3MT presentations.

After much deliberation the Faculty Judging Panel have selected our two winners who will proceed to the Virtual University 3MT Final Competition which will be held as part of the Research Tuesdays Series on 14 September.

Thank you to all of our talented students who took on the challenge and we wish our ECMS finalists all the very best for the University of Adelaide Challenge.

Message from Professor Volker Hessel, Deputy Dean (Research)

3MT 2021 finalists with Volker Hessel

Professor Volker Hessel with the ECMS finalists Chye Yi Leow and Harry Carpenter.

"Congratulations to our 3MT Finalists for 2021.

3MT is an eminent global competition of students giving the best pitch for their research and to make it clear to a wider audience what the corresponding societal impact is.

This year’s winners had their fingers on the pulse of time – the topics all being eminent threats to mankind: Pandemic, Plastic Waste and Hunger motivated our students to provide solutions for those.

Going through to the virtual University of Adelaide Final will be Harry Carpenter from the School of Mechanical Engineering with his presentation “The Silent Pandemic”, and Chye Yi Leow from the School of Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials with her presentation, “Plastic Recycling Reimagined”. The University Final will be held on 14 September 2021. 

I wish our finalists all the very best in the University Final.

Finally, we have our Ron Seidel’s People’s Choice Prize Winner: Hue Pho, from the School of Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials with his presentation “Our Agri-tech revolution to save hunger”. Congratulations again!"

3MT People's Choice Winner

People's Choice award

The Ron Seidel 3MT People's Choice Faculty Prize is the result of a donation to the University of Adelaide by Mr Ron Seidel and Mrs Marilyn Seidel, with Mr Seidel being a past alumni of the University.

The winner of this prize is determined by staff and students during the voting period. In 2021, the Ron Seidel 3MT People's Choice Faculty Prize is awarded to Hue Pho (pictured with Ron Seidel).

Watch the 3MT videos

Plastic recycling reimagined 

By Chye Yi Leow – ECMS finalist


The silent pandemic

By Harry Carpenter

3MT slide

Our Agri-tech revolution to save hunger

By Hue Pho


Tagged in 3MT, research, HDR projects, Higher Degree by Research, electrical and mechanical engineering, Chemical Engineering