Awards: Sciences' researchers, students and staff shine in 2019

End of year awards Faculty of Sciences 2019

Researchers, graduate students and sciences' staff were recognised for their achievements in 2019 at the recent Faculty of Sciences end of year awards function.

The awards celebrated research, teaching, professional staff and student success.


2019 award winners

Award Recipient Award details
The Edith Dornwell Medal for Early Career Research Excellence

Dr Rhiannon Schilling - Agriculture, Food & Wine

Order of Merit:
Dr Natasha Speight -  Animal & Veterinary Sciences

Award details
The Daniel Walker Medal for Early Career Research Excellence

Dr Raymond Tobler - Biological Sciences

Order or Merit:
Dr Joshua Philp -  Agriculture, Food & Wine

Award details
Mid-Career Research Excellence Award

A/Prof Lee Arnold - Physical Sciences

Order or Merit:
A/Prof Martin White -  Physical Sciences

Recognising research excellence, leadership and team building, and broader contributions and impact by a mid-career researcher, relative to opportunity.
Research Leadership Award

Professor Matthew Gilliham - Agriculture, Food and Wine

Recognising sustained excellence in leadership and development of others, a contribution to building an enduring legacy, and a record of ground-breaking research.
Partnership Development Award Dr Alice Jones -Biological Sciences Recognition of efforts by researcher(s) in establishing mutually-beneficial research partnerships with organisations outside of academia for longer-term advancement of knowledge and societal impact.
Excellence in Teaching Award Professor Kerry Wilkinson - Agriculture, Food & Wine Excellence in Teaching Award – for more than five years’ experience
Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr Alistair Standish -  Biological Sciences

Excellence in Teaching Award - for less than five years’ experience:
The Harold Woolhouse Prize Erinn Fagan-Jeffries - Biological Sciences Prize details
The K.P Barley Prize Andrea Stiglingh  - Biological Sciences Prize details
The Professional Staff Award – Team

The Waite Undergraduate Teaching Unit

  • Helen Brown
  • Toni Bennett
  • Eva Tomczyk
  • Lyn Strachan

Faculty of Sciences Marketing and Student Recruitment Team 

  • Sally Jones
  • Ari Traucki
  • Marcella Smyth
  • Amanda Marshall
  • Sam Le Gallou
  • Nicole Eleftheriou
Recognises exceptional performance by a professional team in the Faculty of Sciences.
The Professional Staff Award – Individual Wayne England - Academic Support Team Recognises exceptional performance by an individual professional staff member in the Faculty of Sciences.
Tagged in Faculty of Sciences, School of Animal and Veterinary Sciences, School of Agriculture Food and Wine, School of Physical Sciences, School of Biological Sciences, Waite Research Institute, Research, Awards