Kathryn Amos wins SACOME Exceptional Women in Resources Award 2020

Congratulations to Dr Kathryn Amos, Head of School of the Australian School of Petroleum and Energy Resources who has won the SACOME Exceptional Woman in Resources Award for 2020.

This award from the South Australian Chamber of Mines and Energy recognises the exceptional achievement of a woman in the South Australian resources sector in any occupation. It notes her leadership skills, resilience, her methods of overcoming barriers and seeking out and accepting new responsibilities and challenges.

It also recognises the nominee's work to promote the industry’s social acceptance. This work may include a commitment to community engagement and development, contributing to gender diversity within the sector or other sustainability initiatives.

Kathryn Amos
I have worked with many inspirational women, but have seen many unable to flourish. I am the first female Head of ASPER, and the only female Head of School in the Faculty of ECMS (of 8 Schools) and in this role, I hope to encourage more women to step up into positions of visible leadership in our sector.Dr Kathryn Amos


Dr Amos will now be elevated to a finalist in the Women in Resources National Awards.

Congratulations, Kathryn!

Find out more about the awards

Tagged in Latest News and Achievements, Petroleum Engineering, Women in STEM