Nominate for the 2021 Distinguished Alumni Awards

Commencing in 1992, the Distinguished Alumni Awards honour the highest accomplishments and achievements of the University of Adelaide’s vast alumni community.

Distinguished Alumni previous winners

Most recent Distinguished Alumni Award winners from 2019 (L-R):
Dr James Muecke (Distinguished Alumni Award), Hannah Wandel (James McWha Rising Star Award), Dr Claudia Paul (Tirkapena Alumni Award), A/Prof Kristin Carson-Chahhoud (James McWha Rising Star Award) and Dr Michael Llewellyn-Smith AM KStJ JP (Distinguished Alumni Award).

Our distinguished alumni are a rich and diverse pool of leaders and innovators who are exemplars of the University success story and a great source of internal pride and inspiration.

In 2019, 64 nominations were received, 43 for the Vice-Chancellor award, 18 for the James MCWha award and three for the Tirkapena award, with six awards presented.

If you are aware of a distinguished alum you are encourage to submit a nomination.

The award categories are:

  • Distinguished Alumni Award
    Recognises the outstanding and sustained contributions made by University of Adelaide alumni in their local communities and beyond.
  • Tirkapena Alumni Award
    Recognises both Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander and non-Aboriginal alumni whose significant achievements have impacted their profession and/or community.
  • James McWha Rising Star Award
    Recognises young alumni (35 years or younger at the nomination deadline) who are making a significant contribution as emerging leaders within their profession and/or within their community.

Nominations close on Tuesday 15 June 2021 with winners announced in July 2021.

Find out more and nominate today

Tagged in Latest News and Achievements