ECMS researchers finalists in the Australian Space Awards

Congratulations to two of our ECMS researchers, Professor Volker Hessel and Professor Tat-Jun Chin who have been named as finalists in the 2021 Australian Space Awards.

Professor Volker Hessel, Deputy Dean (Research) from the School of Chemical Engineering and Advanced Materials has been nominated for two categories: Scientist of the Year and Engineer of the Year. Professor Hessel has been deeply involved with the University of Adelaide's first payload launched into space by NASA.

visit researcher profile

Professor Tat-Jun Chin from the School of Computer Science has been nominated for the Academic of the Year award for his work with the Australian Institute for Machine Learning and Adelaide's involvement with the SmartSAT CRC.

visit researcher profile

About the awards

Australian Space Awards

The Space Connect Australian Space Awards has been created to showcase the nation’s best and brightest space businesses and professionals.

Recognising the leading individuals and businesses driving the development of Australia’s space economy, the Australian Space Awards universally acknowledges all space industry stakeholders — from the major listed organisations and corporates servicing Australia’s space economy to SMEs, start-ups, academic institutions and associations.

The awards are open to all businesses operating in Australia supporting the space industry, including telecommunications, satellite, energy, mining and transport sectors as well as the defence, agriculture, disaster and water management industries.

The winners will be announced at a gala dinner in Sydney on Friday 4 June – we wish Professor Hessel and Professor Chin all the best!

Tagged in Latest News and Achievements, Chemical Engineering, Computer Science, research, Space