Uni of Adelaide experts recognised for science excellence

The work of members of the University of Adelaide community has been recognised at this year’s Science Excellence and Innovation Awards.

The awards recognise the work of inspiring Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) leaders and teams working in research and education institutions, schools, industry and the community. They highlight the diversity of scientific endeavour and research in South Australia.

People who have made a significant contribution in their field, demonstrated outstanding leadership and inspired future generations to get involved in science are acknowledged in the annual awards. The awards showcase the critical importance of science, research and innovation to the development of industry and society as a whole.

The following scientists from the University of Adelaide community have won awards:


South Australian Scientist of the Year

Professor Sharad Kumar

Professor Sharad Kumar has been recognised as SA Scientist of the Year jointly with Professor Colin Raston from Flinders University. Professor Kumar has made pioneering discoveries in biomedical sciences through the study of “programmed cell death” and “cellular maintenance” which are critical determinants of health and disease.

He is Affiliate Professor in Medical Specialties and Adjunct Professor in the School of Biological Sciences at the University of Adelaide. He holds a Research Professorship of Cell Biology and a Chair of Cancer Biology at the University of South Australia.


STEMM Educator of the Year

Professor Kerry Wilkinson

SA Science Awards - Kerry Wilkinson

Professor Kerry Wilkinson from the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine is an innovative wine educator who led the development of Wine101x, an award-winning Massive Open Online Course that spans the grape-to-wine value chain. To date, this course has engaged more than 80,000 learners from around the world in the art and science of winemaking.

Her leadership of Communities of Practice and scholarly research have enhanced learning and teaching practices at the University of Adelaide and in the higher education sector more broadly; while her involvement in science communication and outreach have promoted an understanding of the importance of STEMM in food and wine production.

PhD Research Excellence Award

Dr Erinn Fagan-Jeffries

SA Science Awards - Erinn Fagan-Jeffries

Dr Erinn Fagan-Jeffries, who completed her PhD at the University of Adelaide in 2019, is dedicated to discovering and describing new species of parasitoid wasps to better document and understand our biodiversity.

She has multiple awards for her PhD research and is a passionate communicator, and holds a Master of Science Communication Outreach and a Graduate Certificate of Museum Studies.

She gives numerous public lectures and workshops, and currently runs a school-based citizen science project for students to become involved in entomology.

Video and image content courtesy Department for Innovation and Skills

Tagged in Awards, School of Agriculture Food and Wine, School of Biological Sciences, Engagement and Industry, Research, Viticulture and Oenology, Evolutionary Biology